Date and Nut Candy… Probably Better than it Sounds

I found this recipe by Catherine McCord and thought I’d share it. It looks cute, although I would personally ignore the dates and maybe ditch the cashews and the walnuts too… I don’t really like any of that stuff. But then I guess it’s basically oatmeal and honey, which does sound good!

Date and Nut Candy

Credit to Avery Powell
Credit to Avery Powell

Active Time: 15 Minutes
Total Time: 15 Minutes
Makes: 27 Pieces

Ingredients:

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup walnuts
1/4 cup raw cashews
1/4 cup chopped pitted dates
2 Tbs. hone
1 tsp. coconut or canola oil
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
3 Tbs. shredded unsweetened coconut

Instructions:

**Preheat Oven to 350*F**

1. Spread the oats and nuts on a baking sheet. Bake them for 8 to 10 minutes and let them cool. Then grind the mix in a food processor (keep the kids away) for about two minutes. Then chuck in the rest of the ingredients and process them until everything holds together like a cookie dough.

2. Create little cookie balls and coat them with coconut.

3. Eat.

4. Store them at room temperature for up to three days.

I’m not super sure why I numbered that list. It was totally unnecessary because these are like the easiest “healthy” cookies I’ve ever seen.

If you give them a try, don’t forget to let me know!

Leave a Reply

